CERAH Governance

The Geneva Centre for Education and Research in Humanitarian Action (CERAH) was created in its present form in 2008 by an agreement between the University of Geneva and the Graduate Institute (IHEID).

The Supervisory Committee

This is the general supervisory organ of CERAH. The Rector of the University and the Director of the IHEID sit on the Committee. The Committee’s main tasks are to:

  • Nominate the president of the CERAH Board of Directors on the basis of a recommendation from the board;
  • Monitor the application of the strategy proposed by the board, and ensure that it falls within the framework of the general strategy of the University and the IHEID;
  • Approve the annual budget and accounts and the annual report.

The Board of Directors

The strategic governing body of CERAH it the Board of Directors. It is composed of representatives from the University of Geneva, the IHEID and several humanitarian organisations. In addition, two eminent individuals are co-opted to serve on the board. Its tasks are as follows:

  • Define CERAH's strategy;
  • Identify, orient and ensure the implementation and internal oversight of teaching, research and other activities in order to achieve the Centre's objectives;
  • Develop and transmit course regulations to the competent authorities and oversee their application;
  • Deal with conflicts involving students through a Mediation Commission established within the Board.


Current Members of the Board of Directors

Prof. Gilles Carbonnier

Prof Gilles Carbonnier (President)

International Economy, IHEID more...

Prof. Riccardo Bocco

Prof Riccardo Bocco

Anthropology and Sociology of Development, IHEID


Prof. Costanza Bonadonna

Prof Costanza Bonadonna

Faculty of Sciences, University of Geneva



Prof Etienne Bourgeois

Faculty of Psychology and Science of Education, University og Geneva


Prof. François Chappuis

Prof François Chappuis

Humanitarian Medicine, University of Geneva


Prof Francois Dermange

Faculty of Theology, University of Geneva


Mrs Bérengère Gautier

Mrs Bérengère Gautier

Partner, Encore+ Ltd.



Prof SImon Hug

Political Science and International Relations, University of Geneva


Barbara Moser-Mercer

Prof Barbara Moser-Mercer

Ecole de traduction et d'interprétation, University of Geneva.



Ms Mary Werntz

Deputy Director of Operations, ICRC


Prof. Marco Sassòli

Prof Marco Sassòli

Faculty of Law, University of Geneva



Mr Arno Wicki

Deputy Head of Swiss Humanitarian Aid and Head of Multilateral Division at the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC).


Prof Doris Schopper

Faculty of Medicine, University of Geneva



Mrs Aude Thorel

Médecins Sans Frontières, Switzerland



The Board of Directors

Past chairs of the Steering Committee since 1998 have been appointed Honorary Chairpersons. In chronological order since the beginning they are:

  • Prof Timothy Harding, Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Medicine, University of Geneva
  • Prof Jean-Jacques Wagner, Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Sciences, University of Geneva
  • Prof Claude Le Coultre, Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Medicine, University of Geneva
  • Prof Christian-Nils Robert, Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Law, University of Geneva